Hungry?

A lovely blogger wrote about what her last three meals would be if she were on death row. I like this assignment because it distracts me from thinking about what the hell I did to end up sentenced to death. Was it stealing from Sephora? Because I’m not sorry, you guys. I’m going down swinging.

Breakfast: The shiitake mushroom omelet from Hank’s Place in Chadds Ford, PA, with Frank’s red hot sauce, of course. And a few bites of the granola-crusted french toast from Johnny’s Luncheonette, a diner near me.

Lunch: A chocolate fribble from Friendly’s. It’s an old school favorite, and I need to save room for dinner.

Dinner: Roasted butternut and cider soup with pumpkin seed oil and creme fraiche from Sonsie, black and white truffle mac and cheese from Chillingsworth, baked goat cheese and bread from Dali, and Umbagog mud pie from The Balsams. And enough Cakebread chardonnay to make the lethal injection seem like a hiLARious way to go.

6 Responses to “Hungry?”


  1. 1 3carnations November 13, 2007 at 10:01 am

    I worked at Friendly’s all through high school. I made many a Fribble. We don’t have Friendly’s around here. When we visit my parents, I always have to go to one, as they are all over that area.

  2. 2 mbbored November 13, 2007 at 11:59 am

    OK, now my mouth is watering and my belly is grumbling. I do love how sophisticated your food sounds: shiitakes, granola, butternut squash, creme fraiche. I totally stole the idea for my blog, but don’t worry, I give you and Love is Blonde complete credit for the idea.

  3. 3 yeahsoanyway November 13, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    3c, yay Friendly’s!

    Mbbored, it’s only because it’s my last meal, you know? If it was a random Tuesday I’d be eating M&Ms and Sam Light for dinner, as usual. Just kidding. Or am I?

  4. 4 Kate November 13, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    My favorite game! Can I just point out that someone on the record as hating cheese is having cheese twice for her final dinner? Just sayin’.

  5. 5 stefanie November 13, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    I was going to comment on your fancy-pants foodie choices and the alarming inclusion of cheese, but I see that’s already been covered. So instead I’ll just say, “What is this ‘Friendly’s’ of which you speak?” I will have to Google it.

  6. 6 Lara November 20, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Oh my god I am drooling over the white truffle mac & cheese. Fuck Thanksgiving; I’m driving to Boston to get some mac & cheese with you. Oh, and do you not also love the Cakebread Sauvignon Blanc? To die for.


Leave a Reply

Archives


