Scentsational

Kate: My roommate just said, “I feel? That, like, Chanel? Never goes on sale?”
Me: Ha. Unrelated: I suddenly want perfume.
Kate: Ja? What you wear now?
Me: I don’t. I play with perfume but it always seems a little trying too hard.
Kate: That sounded like I was hitting on you in broken English.

This is a roundabout way of discussing perfume. What do we think? There’s something about the cold weather that makes me want to burrow under blankets and ponder warm, yummy scents in pretty bottles. They look so cute on my dresser, but they always smell like… perfume. When I smell perfume on a woman, I’m not likely to pick up on the top notes of beach and middle notes of coconut and bottom notes of sand in bathing suit or whatever, it just smells like A Woman Wearing Perfume.

Sometimes I wear the Chanel No. 5 (the elixir, not the perfume) or Burberry Brit to bed, but only when I’m alone, because all the boys I’ve dated seem to prefer eau de shampoo. This is why I try to shower when in relationships.

Boys also ruin all scents for me. I loved that Origins ginger souffle until an old boyfriend told me it smelled like deep woods Off.

I’m still mad, Steve. Buy me nice things.

It’s no secret that I’m a product junkie, but I don’t buy new stuff very often anymore. Right now I love the La Mer body creme, which costs about what my new therapist charges for a session (I better be all kinds of sane in a few weeks). Kate likes the Banana Republic perfume. What are you crazy kids wearing these days?

8 Responses to “Scentsational”


  1. 1 Heather February 7, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I’m alternating between DKNY Be Delicious, which seems to me like a great every-season perfume, and Falling in Love by Philosophy, which I like because it smells cozy to me. I also adore Amazing Grace by Philosophy.

  2. 2 -R- February 8, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I rarely ever wear perfume. In college I wore Hugo Boss for Women. Today I am wearing my husband’s cologne because he smelled so good this morning that I just felt like wearing it too. Should I be admitting this? Oh well.

  3. 3 Noelle February 8, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I had this great perfume that I bought in Paris, and I think it’s sold everywhere over there, but to get it here, it’s like $25 in shipping alone. Add on the base expensive price and the euro to dollar conversion, and I’m priced out. I guess it’s just some Brittney Spears swill for me.

  4. 4 Jess February 8, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I love the idea of perfume, too, but I hardly ever wear it. Somebody suggested to me that I find a perfume and wear it only on my wedding day so that whenever I smell it in the future, I’ll be reminded of that day. I haven’t decided yet whether I want to do that.

    I love cologne on guys, though.

  5. 5 Jen February 8, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Ralph Lauren Blue. Try it! I think you might like it… it’s very light and fluffy. I have never met anyone else who wears it and I always get compliments. It makes me happy when I put it on.

  6. 6 Allison February 8, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Funny that you would write this post because my work “friends” and I were just discussing perfume. One of the girls had ‘Falling in Love’ by Philosophy and it was de-lish smelling. I seriously might have to go out and get it.

    What I wear most now (if I wear perfume) is Princess by Vera Wang. It’s the first time I actually smelled something from one of those stinky magazine ads and actually went out and bought it. Other than that sometimes I’ll wear Calvin Klein Eternity or Arden Beauty by Elizabeth Arden.

  7. 7 Shesabigstar February 9, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    For some reason, I feel like I wear the most girly common perfumes EVER…don’t really know why, but all of a sudden I feel REALLY embarrassed about my perfume choices! Anyways…I’m a Clinique Happy girl, with Estee Lauder Pleasures Intense as my back-up. My bff uses Banana Republic…LOVE IT!

  8. 8 abbersnail February 14, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I’ve been wearing Caroline Herrera 212 for about five years now, and I love it. Smells like soap to me. But I’m flirting with Philosophy’s Amazing Grace at the moment. I don’t know, though, it seems too popular. I like the idea of smelling a little bit unique, you know?

    Lord, I overanalyze stuff!


Leave a Reply

Archives


