I Bet She Finds Endless Irrelevant Opportunities To Reference Her Horse

I love Overheard In New York, and a friend just turned me on to Overheard In The Office. Why is this stuff so funny? I don’t know, but I finally have one of my own to throw into the mix. I call it Overheard At The Dumpster.

Last night I was taking out my trash and there was a group of 13-year-old-ish girls walking by. One of them jumped when I threw my trash in.

Girl: You’re skittish, Courtney.
Courtney: I know.
Girl: That’s okay. My horse is skittish, too.
Courtney: So now I’m a horse?
Girl: No, I said you’re LIKE my horse.

Seriously, who has a horse? Whose father responds to “Daddy, I want a pony” with “That sounds reasonable”? Of course, I can think of only one answer to that question.

svt

6 Responses to “I Bet She Finds Endless Irrelevant Opportunities To Reference Her Horse”


  1. 1 Jess February 11, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Oh my god, Sweet Valley Twins. The memories!

    Also, I love Eavesdrop DC, which is what the DC version of OINY is called. I am headed to check out that Overheard in the Office thing right now.

  2. 2 stefanie February 12, 2008 at 9:44 am

    What 13-year-old has a horse? I say what 13-year-old uses the word skittish? Frankly, I’m impressed with your neighbor kids’ vocabulary.

  3. 3 Jessica February 12, 2008 at 10:11 am

    i had a horse when i was 13, and 8, and 16, and all the other ages. i frequently get that “who has a horse?!” reaction from just about everyone though.

  4. 4 Allison February 13, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    This is what I overheard in my office today.

    Random girl #1: “You smell good.”

    Random girl #2: “Thanks I just put on lotion.”

    Random girl #1: “I always smell your coconuts when I leave.”

  5. 5 nancypearlwannabe February 14, 2008 at 9:39 am

    That Lila Fowler had EVERYTHING.

  6. 6 Lara February 29, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Those goddamn Sweet Valley Twin bitches, they had EVERYTHING.


Leave a Reply

Archives


