“It Seemed Unprovoked”

I was thinking about what to write today to commemorate the Sox home opener (WOO YEAH DANCE PARTY!) and then I realized that sometimes a picture grainy YouTube video is worth a thousand words. The most moving tribute that I could give would be to celebrate the most significant moment from last season.

So, what was it? Buchholz’s no-hitter? The Mother’s Day game when they came from behind to win in the 9th? The brilliance of Beckett, despite his rope necklace? Pap’s catch to end the game and bring home the World Series win AGAIN? Youk leading what appeared to be a West Side Story chorus line during the playoffs? Uh, I mean, something more manly than that.

No, friends. The moment I’m talking about was a little thing that, around these parts, we call Pizzagate.

Go Sox!

8 Responses to ““It Seemed Unprovoked””


  1. 1 Noelle April 8, 2008 at 7:44 am

    If it weren’t for the fans, the sport would be so clean…

    I wonder what it’s like living in a town where everyone can get behind one team. Seems kind of nice, but I don’t think I’ll ever give up my loyalty to The Mets.

  2. 2 Anna April 8, 2008 at 8:23 am

    That was some funny stuff! I love the way the announcers kept giggling about it.

  3. 3 Jess April 8, 2008 at 9:59 am

    This video is ridiculous. God I love Red Sox fans.

  4. 4 Shesabigstar April 8, 2008 at 11:41 am

    That video was ALMOST as the one you posted of our star closer doing the Irish Jig…not quite, but almost!!

  5. 5 Allison April 8, 2008 at 11:47 am

    That’s really funny. Who would waste a perfectly good $20 piece of pizza in such a way?!

  6. 6 Shesabigstar April 8, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I meant to say *almost as good*…oops!

  7. 7 dontcallmemaam April 10, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    As funny as the pizza-throwing was, I think it was funnier that the announcers couldn’t stop talking about it! It’s like they forgot the game was still going on.

  8. 8 Red April 12, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Noelle, it’s awesome! But that’s our answer to everything, so, um…yeah! Woo!

    Anna and DCMM, that’s exactly why it’s so funny. 🙂

    Jess, me too!

    Allison, I don’t know. I just don’t know. Mob mentality!

    Shesabigstar, ha, nothing may top that.


Leave a Reply

Archives


