Apparently I Will Not Be Teleporting Anytime Soon

I was actually starting to think that I had finally entered the elusive realm of the technologically savvy with my new Blackberry. I mean, when you can receive emails in your car, can the silver jumpsuit and flying car be far behind?

One of my high school friends is getting married in Denmark over the summer, which is another way of saying that I will not be attending the blessed event. Her little sister emailed that she’s putting together a montage of well wishes from friends, and asked if I’d make a “little video, just a minute or two.”

A video? With, like, a…uh…camcorder? I know I’m thirty years old and all but HOW DO I MAKE A VIDEO? Also, a minute or two is kind of a long time; after the five seconds it takes for “I love you! Congratulations!”, I may need to sing a song or something. And something tells me there is vast double chin potential. Whatever happened to registering at Williams-Sonoma? What says love more than a stainless steel panini press?

So, yeah, I finally realized that no matter how much I fool myself with portable communication devices, I’m just not living in the future that Marty McFly promised me. If you need me, I’ll be in the corner swaying along to Earth Angel and avoiding the Libyans.

7 Responses to “Apparently I Will Not Be Teleporting Anytime Soon”


  1. 1 Doc May 20, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I’m pretty sure you can use your Blueberry (hehe) to record a video if you have one of those nifty media cards. You’re right, though…what can you possibly say other than “Congrats?” “Um…hope you don’t get divorced!” You’ve got bigger problems to worry about, though, because “something’s gotta be done about your kids!” Here’s to hoping that we don’t become assholes or something in the future.

  2. 2 Stefanie May 20, 2008 at 8:26 am

    If it makes you feel any better, I wouldn’t have any clue how to make a video and get it to Denmark, either. (That probably doesn’t make you feel better, nor does it help you with your dilemma, but it’s all I got. Sorry.)

  3. 3 Noelle May 20, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I would probably fly to Denmark to avoid having to make a video.

  4. 4 Jess May 20, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Your camera might have a video making function. Mine does. Not that I know how to use it, but at least I know it exists.

  5. 5 courtney May 20, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    And what are you supposed to do with the video if you do figure out how to make it? E-mail it? Wrap up the tape and mail it to Denmark? It’s insanity.

  6. 6 Anna May 20, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    No, you don’t have to use a videocamera – just use Windows Moviemaker. It’s super-easy, and you can just put in pictures and title screens, slap some music over it and you’re done! That way you can pick flattering pictures of yourself and also put in some of the two of you if you have any.

  7. 7 Allie May 21, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Ah, double chin potential — the reason I don’t like to be photographed. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


