Oh Summer, We Hardly Knew Ye

On July fourth in Salem, some storm cloud of a guy rained on my friends and I long enough to say something like, “Well, summer’s basically over now.” Thanks, Eeyore. Who says that mid-fireworks? Except that conversation was about five seconds ago. Seriously, summer, why must you tease us so? And why must I use Old English? Bring me an answer henceforth at once.

It was a great summer, though. IS, sorry…I know. But Labor Day fast approaches, as does my life of gainful employment…and just in time, because no one is less liked than someone who works in edumacation at the end of August.

This summer was the usual fun litany of weddings and endless baseball. Vows and Varitek; doesn’t get much better. And great trips…I went to Pennsylvania for my grandmother’s 85th, New Hampshire with my family, New York City for the Sox-Yankees series. New Seabury beach on the Cape, yummy lobster and cold Riesling, nights at Fenway…

But I love fall. I LOVE fall. Sweaters, baby pumpkins, watching the godkids’ soccer games at sunset wearing a hoodie and drinking something warm. My job starts up, baseball heats up. Weather nice enough that you can have the windows open all the time. Apples, cider, Halloween. Speaking of, does anyone think I could pull off going as Tobie from Labyrinth at this year’s costume shindig? This may be the year.

Goddaughter is starting middle school next week and doesn’t understand why she got such a long list of supplies to buy, because “we already pay taxes!” Godson is starting fourth grade, and did I mention that he’s five foot one? Which is weird, considering I was just giving them bottles about three seconds ago. Now it’s all sports and friends and Miley Cyrus songs that show up on my online banking statement. Never link up your iTunes account with tweens, people.

Anyway. How were (are…ARE!) your summers going, friends?

4 Responses to “Oh Summer, We Hardly Knew Ye”


  1. 1 Noelle August 25, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Summer has seen too much inactivity on my part. I’m looking forward to some awesome fall weather.

  2. 2 Courtney August 26, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I’m spending my summer in a place that doesn’t really get hot, so it hasn’t really felt like summer to me. But bring on fall!

  3. 3 Allie August 30, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I love fall too! I am really psyched for it. But since I was working on rewrites all summer, I feel like there’s been very little summer in my summer. I’m hoping for a nice, long fall and a trip some place warm for a little while this winter.

  4. 4 stefanie September 3, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Wasn’t Tobie Jennifer Connelly’s baby brother? Hmm. If anyone could pull that off, you could? Really I should probably consult IMDB before I even post this comment.


Leave a Reply

Archives


